Spoiled.

Hey guys!

I’m back today to talk about something that has been on my mind lately. So recently I’ve been really into starting new shows but never actually finishing them until like a few months later. It’s weird, I know but there always seems to be a scene or episode that gets me so frustrated that it takes me forever to get back into the series. That being said, even if it takes me 5 years to finish a show, I do not want to know the ending.

I repeat : I DO NOT WANT TO KNOW THE ENDING.

giphy2

There’s always that one person who thinks it there life’s mission to tell me all the plot twists and turns of the series. I will admit that there have been a few occasions where I have done this but I try my very best to not do that anymore. It’s in the past people.

Now, I just want to know why people think that this is acceptable. I think I speak for most of us when I say that the ending of a series is something I like to experience on my own. Have you ever had that one person who kind of indirectly tells you? Like they give you this look and I just hate it. The satisfaction of being surprised and not knowing what’s about to happen is so good. When somebody takes that away from me, it just kind of ruins the show. It’s like, what is the point of even watching the episode if you already know what’s coming?

Expanding on this topic, can we just talk about movie trailers now a days as well? I just don’t understand why people are basically showing the ENTIRE movie during a trailer. The trailer is supposed to be a little sneak peak that has you guessing and wondering about the movie. But what happens when the trailer not only includes the beginning of a story, but also basically includes the end? I don’t want to know the end of the movie, cause again what’s the point of even seeing the movie then? If you’re just going to spoil the whole movie, I guess it’s best if I just wait until it comes out online and watch it at home, without having to pay for really expensive movie tickets that cost about $11.

A perfect example of this movie trailer failure is Everything, Everything. So before we talk about everything wrong about the trailer, I just want to say that I absolutely LOVED this book and highly enjoyed reading it. When I heard that it was being made into a movie, I was so excited.

Then I SAW THE TRAILER.

giphy1

It was cute and adorable but immediately I saw how much it spoiled the whole plot of the book. I just don’t think it’s fair to show the end parts of the book in the trailer. The whole appeal of a trailer is to get people so interested on what can happen, that they want to go see the movie.

To further expand on this, lets talk about books. I love books, you know? Honestly your kind of crazy if you don’t. But people, please do not tell me that “OMG that book has the most amazing twist, you’ll never see it coming!” UM…Yes I will, thanks to you for telling me it was coming. Now I know that you didn’t tell me specifically what was going to happen or anything like that, but telling me there’s a twist in the book just makes me extremely frustrated.

giphy

What also makes me angry is that on some books, the blurbs will even say “There’s a twist and it was so unexpected!” Why is this written on a book? The author probably worked super hard to create a twist and now they’re just going to spoil it? Okay, so I really want to start a revolution here. Can we all just agree that if your writing or talking about a book, please do not mention there’s a twist.

Anyways, I hoped you guys enjoyed this rant about spoilers and if any of you guys feel the same or have something else to say, comment down below. I’m just dying to know how you guys feel on this subject, all your little your thoughts and opinions.

Best of wishes,

The Rant Girl x

4 thoughts on “Spoiled.

  1. I totally agree with you about the Everything, Everything trailer haha! However I’m still sooo going to see that movie it looks so good even if they showed absolutely everything 😉 in it XD

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

