“What is it like to be a teenager?”

2 words.

14 letters.

5 syllables.

It’s complicated.

Okay, so maybe it’s more than just complicated.

Life as a teenager in the 21st century is a mess. It’s the type of mess you leave sitting around your room before your mom tells you to clean it up. Everything in life as a teenager feels like a chore. You have to go to school. You have to get good grades. You have to be a role model. You have to be better than everybody else. There’s too many “you have to” and not enough “what do YOU want to do”.

It’s as if I’m stuck in a bubble.

I’ve been stuck in this bubble for about 15 years of my life. My whole life. Sure my parents allowed me to chase my dreams and shoot for the stars, but what about the rest of the world? They want us to be PERFECT.

I can’t step out of my bubble without being judged. One wrong move and that’s it. The bubble has been popped and I’m no longer floating.

Not like I was floating with joy before, but with the wrong step I could lose everything. The world put me into a bubble with no escape. Because society makes it impossible to just be YOU.

Truly and sincerely you.

The you that doesn’t have to apologize for being yourself. The you who can like whoever they want to like. The you who has a dream to step out of the Barbie shell they’ve made for us. We’re not robots, nor will we ever be. So please, stop trying to limit my imagination.

It’s also about experimentation. These are the years we get to experience life. To try out the test samples of what life has to give us. We get to learn, go out, and dream of what’s to come. We lose friendships. We gain friendships. We learn new things about ourselves and with that we hope for acceptance. Acceptance from our friends, families, and maybe even foes.

So yes, being a teenager is complicated.

But nothing good in life is ever easy

So as hard as people try to judge us, we try just as hard to ignore them and walk away.

“Teenagers are the most misunderstood people on earth. Treated like children but expected to act like adults.”

Sincerely,

The Rant Girl

 

13 thoughts on ““What is it like to be a teenager?”

  1. Oh it’s painful for me to say that this is so true – it’s like society wants us all to fit in this mold that’s considered as perfect, like you said. As long as teens persevere to be their own stars, and spread their own light through the dark humanity and society has spread, maybe things can change. Such an inspirational and motivational post, even if it was painfully true – it really got to me (in a good way!!) 🙂

    Aqsa ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so unbelievably true. As a teenager, things are too complicated, it’s like you’re forever being prematurely forced into adulthood. As a teen I feel like I can’t be myself because all of us get criticised by others like no mans business. You really put that it out there, great job! 😊❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

