Me, you, and the whole wide web.

Hey wonderful people of the interwebs! So you probably don’t know this about me, but at school I take a speech and debate class where we talk about different topics each week. This week our topic was “Does technology make people less social?” Seeing as this platform is part of the social media community I thought what better than to discuss this topic on my blog!

So the definition of social is relating to, devoted to, or characterized by friendly companionship or relations. Many people believe that technology has made us less social human beings. I would have to respectfully disagree with that statement.

Technology has created a platform to interact and connect with people around the world through programs such as social media. Everyday I’m meeting new people. Whether its over the internet or in person, I get to engage in conversations all the same. Without technology I never would have made a blog, and I never would have engaged in a community so loving as this one. People against technology argue that being social is having face to face interactions.Β So just because I can’t see someone, it means that I’m not really talking to them?

No, because the definition of social in no way states that it needs to be face to face interaction.

No, because I’ve never been able to fully express myself then I have on this blog.

No, because this is me. This is the real me. Cause the face to face me doesn’t exist. At least not as real and genuine as the girl who writes a blog and gets the chance to talk to people all around the world.

Cause thats what technology has created. A platform to be yourself or anybody you want to be. The possibilities are endless.Β When our ancestors created the idea of social, their only way to define being social was through interactions.

But they never imagined what the future would be like.

We keep this idea of social because its all we’ve ever known. As our world has changed, new definitions of “social” are being created. The word social should no longer be confined to its traditional meaning. Everybody and everything in the world has the potential to be something amazing. It’s up to us to take a risk and try something new πŸ™‚

“Potential means nothing if you don’t do anything with it.”

Thank you for reading,

The Rant Girl

3 thoughts on “Me, you, and the whole wide web.

Leave a Reply

